Movie Report: ‘Shape Of Water’ Wins Best Pic, Director On Oscar Night

For Hollywood, 2017 officially came to a close Sunday night with the 90th Annual Academy Awards.

During the evening ceremony, “The Shape of Water” was the big winner, taking Best Director and Best Picture, along with Best Score.

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” also had a good night, earning Best Actress and Best Supporting Actor.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Best Picture:
“The Shape of Water”

Lead Actor:
Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”

Lead Actress:
Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Supporting Actor:
Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Supporting Actress:
Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”

“The Shape of Water,” Guillermo del Toro

Animated Feature:
“Coco,” Lee Unkrich, Darla K. Anderson

Animated Short:
“Dear Basketball,” Glen Keane, Kobe Bryant

Adapted Screenplay:
“Call Me by Your Name,” James Ivory

Original Screenplay:
“Get Out,” Jordan Peele

“Blade Runner 2049,” Roger Deakins

Best Documentary Feature:
“Icarus,” Bryan Fogel, Dan Cogan

Best Documentary Short Subject:
“Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405,” Frank Stiefel

Best Live Action Short Film:
“The Silent Child,” Chris Overton, Rachel Shenton

Best Foreign Language Film:
“A Fantastic Woman” (Chile)

Film Editing:
“Dunkirk,” Lee Smith

Sound Editing:
“Baby Driver,” Julian Slater

Sound Mixing:
“Dunkirk,” Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo

Production Design:
“The Shape of Water,” Paul D. Austerberry, Jeffrey A. Melvin, Shane Vieau

Original Score:
“The Shape of Water,” Alexandre Desplat

Original Song:
“Remember Me” from “Coco,” Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez

Makeup and Hair:
“Darkest Hour,” Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski, Lucy Sibbick

Costume Design:
“Phantom Thread,” Mark Bridges

Visual Effects:
“Blade Runner 2049,” John Nelson, Paul Lambert, Richard R. Hoover, Gerd Nefzer

The Oscars weren’t the only award ceremony taking place over the weekend, though. Just a day before, the Film Independent Spirit Awards were held, with “Get Out” leaving as the big winner.

The film earned two crucial wins Saturday, taking Best Feature and Best Director. “Call Me By Your Name” also had a good showing, taking Best Male Lead and Best Cinematography.

The ceremony shed light on numerous other indie projects, too. The full list of winners is below:

Get Out

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
Ingrid Goes West, Director: Matt Spicer, Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza, Tim White, Trevor White

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. (Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)
Life and nothing more, Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza, Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández, Pedro Hernández Santos

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name

Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya

Frances McDormand, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast
Mudbound, Director: Dee Rees, Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram, Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)
Faces Places, Directors: Agnés Varda, JR

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)
A Fantastic Woman, Chile, Director: Sebastián Lelio

BONNIE AWARD – Bonnie Tiburzi Caputo joined American Airlines in 1973 at age 24, becoming the first female pilot to fly for a major U.S. airline. In her honor, the inaugural Bonnie Award will recognize a mid-career female director with a $50,000 unrestricted grant, sponsored by American Airlines.
Chloé Zhao

JEEP TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 23rd annual Truer Than Fiction Award, funded by the Jeep brand, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by the Jeep brand.
Jonathan Olshefski, Director of Quest

KIEHL’S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 24th annual Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851.
Justin Chon, Director of Gook

Author: Matthew Liedke

Journalist and film critic in Minnesota. Graduate of Rainy River College and Minnesota State University in Moorhead. Outside of movies I also enjoy sports, craft beers and the occasional video game.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: